images of the crossing over

31, the photographic confessional

Me, spring 2011. Shortly after my 31st birthday.

Despite my best efforts to make brightness and contrast adjustments in Ps. look natural, nothing short of kind-of-scary brightness levels will bring my face out of shadow, which also blows the sky into an apocalyptic ashen white. This is what I get for leaning into the shadows while simultaneously trying to coach a camera rookie around the D700’s labrynthine modes and options. Still, to quote my older sister (사형님): “Wow, you came out well in this picture!” Well, you know…I try.

12 responses

  1. It’s a lot more work, but what i do is select and copy the entire image, then past it over the original as a layer. Once I’m happy with the the was the shadow looks, I select everything around it and delete.

    Sometimes it doesn’t work so well, but after a few tries you start to figure things out!

    Thanks for letting us have a face to go with the blog~ ^_^

    April 19, 2011 at 8:03 am

    • Ah, I need to start working with layers. (One of my bits of “homework” this vacation is to start learning, not merely futzing around with, Photoshop. So much possibility, if I can just get a hold of the basics!) Thanks for the tip.

      April 22, 2011 at 2:52 am

      • It’s easy to loose a whole lot of time on Photoshop, believe me! haha I’ve wasted over three hours on a photo I ended up scrapping before. (although I did learn something, so it wasn’t a complete waste…)
        You’re probably more aware than I am that there are better ways to spend that time!

        The really difficult/time consuming part is to get the layers to blend naturally. The “middle way” becomes very useful! ^_^

        April 22, 2011 at 2:57 am

  2. You look great, Sunim: happy and self-assured. THAT can’t be Photoshopped, for sure.

    April 19, 2011 at 11:32 am

  3. Roy

    Sunim!! There you are! Great shot.

    April 19, 2011 at 1:26 pm

  4. What a wonderful picture! I love getting this glimpse of you.

    April 19, 2011 at 3:12 pm

    • This was a fun picture to take, the problematic lighting/exposure notwitshstanding.

      April 22, 2011 at 2:51 am

  5. Bill Young

    It’s been great visiting with you through your recent posts, as well as “…seeing…” you here.

    April 22, 2011 at 1:49 am

    • *grin*

      When I asked Deok An Sunim, who was out with me for the walk, to take my picture, instead of continually asking her to pose, she said: “What? You? Actually in a photo? …What happened?” I replied honestly that I felt left out of the record of our class, all those pictures without me in them. Vanity, or mortality, biting at my heels, I suppose.

      April 22, 2011 at 2:48 am

  6. I met you just once I think but I recognized this photo as you right away! You look very happy – great photo. 🙂

    April 27, 2011 at 4:59 pm

  7. Pingback: 32 x 6 (living hagiography 3.11) « 如 (thus) 是

Leave a Reply

