images of the crossing over

Contour, form

삭발날: on the 9th day(s) of the lunar month–9, 19, 29–we shave our heads. A special meal is served during the day, consisting of glutinous rice with various energizing additions (gingko berries, jujubes, and chestnuts, peanuts, etc.), seasoned roasted laver, and seaweed soup. The two nuns here are preparing to slice the long strands of soaked and rinsed seaweed before sauteing it and adding the broth.

As an aside, this photo reminds me that I tend to underexpose my shots. I was just beginning to wean myself off of automized settings, including my favorite “aperture priority” setting, around the time I took this picture in the summer. When I switched to all-manual on the digital cameras or played with the Nikkormat, the results surprised me with more dramatic light, typically because of slight over-exposure.

2 responses

  1. Really amazing!
    I was told in school that it’s always better to under expose than over expose. You can always lighten up an image but if its blown out you can get that detail back.

    February 25, 2011 at 3:19 pm

    • Thanks for the tip. I wish I’d been in school for this kind of stuff…it’d help a lot. Right now, trying to wade through software programs for post-production stuff alone is overload.

      February 25, 2011 at 11:32 pm

Leave a Reply

