images of the crossing over

(untitled)

Seo Ju Sunim, in autumn.

4 responses

  1. Beautiful!

    December 30, 2010 at 10:51 pm

    • …I confess: this shot was set up. I first spotted this tree going up in flame one leaf at a time about two weeks before this picture was taken. But even with that one red branch, something was listless and weak about the picture. I dragged two different nuns out to the spot to take pictures, and this one was the best. It was originally a test shot for the cover of the school magazine’s fall 2011 issue (yes, a full year in advance, because one never knows). Glad you enjoyed it–and I owe you an email!

      January 1, 2011 at 2:48 am

  2. Bill Young

    This is a lovely photograph. I like the composition and the elements – the sunlight, red leaves, and Nun with her broad summer hat – and the way they came together, especially with the Nun facing away from the camera.

    February 13, 2011 at 4:53 pm

    • It’s one of my few staged photographs. It was meant as a test for next year’s cover shot; alas, as you know, the cover shot is no longer my burden or my joy to fuss over. The model is Seo Ju Sunim, who appears in a number of photos because she has such great presence. I tried this shot with a different Sunim as the model, and it was then that I began to understand presence in photography: amazingly, even when people are just standing there, they aren’t just standing there. Confidence, poise, centeredness, strength, and all of the opposite are conveyed immediately. While I deliberately strive for uncontrived photos, especially portraits, shooting this picture on two different days with two different models taught me a lot about choosing your subject, taking their personality into consideration when you have a particular concept or mood in mind. Yipes!

      February 14, 2011 at 5:26 am

Leave a Reply

