images of the crossing over

Chairs, floor

3 responses

  1. Roy

    Dear Sunim,

    So happy to see these images. Thank you for taking the time out of your day to share them with us.

    So cool you have such a nice rig (Nikon d300) to make your images with too. Even when you were using the point-n-shoot though you still captured some compelling images.

    I hope you are well and happy.

    – roy –

    September 8, 2010 at 5:11 am

    • Dear Roy,

      *grin* Always good to see you…and yes, your mala is *still* in the making. I need to finish the knot work.

      A note about cameras, because I currently have four in my locker at school: the old Powershoot (loved that little butter brick) is nearly dead, perhaps from over-(ab)use, but was the best 100 dollars anyone ever spent on a gift for me. The Nikon D300 is the school’s junior photographer’s camera; I’ll be stepping into the D700 in about two months when I move into the senior photographer position. My sense is that both the D300 and especially the D700 are more camera than I’m worth right now, but hey: our seminary needs shots they can blow up for the cover of the school magazine, and that D700 does the trick. The Baby, a Canon 500D (sold as one of the Rebel series in the US) and “my” camera, is one I get to use less rarely because right now taking pictures is a job, and I have to produce a lot of images for the school–that means using the school’s camera. The last is my dad’s 1970’s Nikkormat, the one I learned on back in highschool and is, in some ways, my favorite of the four. I have a roll of Kodak b/w in it right now as a test roll. It has a 50mm prime lens, which lets you get out of people’s way but still have a degree of personal intimacy in the shots; in short, a beautiful lens for portraits. The Nikon has an 18-200mm zoom, which does some quirky things, very few of which I enjoy. (What I want isn’t a 200mm zoom, but a 200mm macro…) The Baby boasts a quiet, fast 17-55mm, which does everything I could hope for except take macro shots.

      I might be the only one who cares about all this stuff; my classmates have told me so on more than one occassion. But if anyone else is interested, them’s the hardware I’ve got.

      September 13, 2010 at 3:31 am

  2. Roy

    Sunim –

    Thanks for the rundown on all the rigs. Pretty sweet if you ask me. A D300 *and* a D700 *and* a Canon *AND* a Nikkormat.. yoiks!

    I am doing well to contain (and conceal) my hardware envy.

    Regarding the prime lens… doncha just love em?? I have a 35mm prime that I really enjoy.

    Be well – and thanks again..

    – roy.

    September 15, 2010 at 3:30 am

Leave a Reply

