images of the crossing over

The Choir, Buddha’s Birthday Festival 2010

5 responses

  1. The template this blog uses auto-generates the scheme colors. It over-did it on this one. Mustard is the new black; sorry.

    May 24, 2010 at 12:32 am

  2. Yeah, there ought to be a manual override or something.

    I tried the WordPress.org version of this theme when I was setting up my own photoblog, but found it too complex to even begin to tweak. It was crazy.

    May 25, 2010 at 1:26 am

    • Dave,

      First off, thanks for the tip-off on your blog. I was assigned the position of photographer for my seminary’s magazine/cultural bureau, and this is basically the work-book for that job. Between learning the camera and learning the photographs, there’s a lot going on creatively, and I’m loving it. Can’t vouch for the photos, but I’m glad to have the opportunity to play around.

      Second, yes: this template has some bugs. I like the streamlined style; I like the camera info it lifts from the file (so I can evaluate technically what I did right and did wrong with the machinery). I shoot mostly in black in white, so the colors don’t usually matter, except when it really goes wrong. I’m planning to include interviews at some point–this is an on-going project at school with my class–and this template won’t support a magazine-like feel or multi-picture layouts. I liked your template and thought about using it; may still give it a try.

      By the way, I got “Odes to Tools” last winter. I couldn’t take it to school with me–we’re not allowed to have “non-curricular” books–so I’ve read it a page at a time on vacations. I’ve toyed with the idea of doing a similar project with pictures, a call-and-response between word and image. That’s my off-hand way of saying I loved the poems, and congratulations on your first ink offspring. (I like having a little Bonta to read when the computer is off, which is most of the time…)

      May 25, 2010 at 9:46 am

  3. Hey, glad you’re enjoying that chap! One of the reasons Beth goes with Createspace for a printer, I think, is so people overseas can order books cheaply and easily. I’m sure she’ll be glad to hear you’re reading it, too.

    You’d have to go self-hosted to use Autofocus, and I don’t recommend that — I imagine it would be more trouble (and expense) than it’s worth for you, unless the seminary would support the hosting fees and domain registration. But WordPress.com is adding new themes at a great rate, and there are at least a couple others available now that you could consider for this project. The Journalist v.1.9 has a wide main column that permits 700px-wide images — see http://porousborders.wordpress.com/ for an example. Twenty Ten allows 640px-wide images. But I think only Duotone and its predecessor Monotone are equipped to detect and display the exif data at this point. If you want more of a magazine look, there are of course other themes for that.

    May 25, 2010 at 3:45 pm

    • Thanks for the suggestions. Self-hosting is out of the question right now. Anyway, once school starts again (in two days), I’ll barely have time to load the week’s photos, so most of these questions can be shelved for awhile.

      May 29, 2010 at 12:16 am

Leave a Reply

